Be Filled (Ephesians 5:15-20)

We’re deep in the era of video preaching, and this is the first time I’ve had the opportunity to watch myself preach in front of a congregation. So… that’s cool I guess.

I had trouble with this message – I had trouble really finding a spot to land it, and as I was walking to City Centre Church, I still didn’t know where I was going to go with it – not for lack of trying.

But you know, what I learned today is that, even when I deliver a message that I feel is mediocre, that isn’t at the level that I want it to be, the Spirit will still do the Spirit’s work, and speak to the hearts of those who listen. A woman came to me after this message to tell me how it spoke to her, and it spoke to her in a very unexpected way for me. I was thankful to hear that feedback.

I think I’m a pretty good preacher, I really do. But there are times, more often than I want them to happen, that I do not deliver something that I think is good. When that happens, the best I can do is to trust that the Lord will be faithful to the office of the preacher, and the Lord will speak to the congregation however he sees fit. I saw that at work today, and realized that it’s not my work that speaks to the people – it’s Gods, and I am especially thankful for that.

Leave a comment